I Couldn’t Help But Notice

As the sun rolled down from your countenance,

I couldn’t help but notice

Your tapering eyelashes, adorned with pellets of the onrushing rain

A set of hazel eyes, they were framing

They seemed to talk to me,

About the words we didn’t speak that day

A faraway world, a time of immortality

And I blushed, pride pushing me away

You smiled, edges of your lips curving upwards

Our distance became a mere step in that sandy beach

I began to waver,

As the ripples in the sky foreshadowed an approaching storm.

Leave a Reply

